Hackney Award

T. Morris Hackney Endowed Faculty Leadership

Dr. Gregory B. Thompson

The T. Morris Hackney Endowed Faculty Leadership Award honors a faculty member who exemplifies the constant guidance and leadership necessary to make the College of Engineering exceptional. Dr. Gregory B. Thompson, professor in the department of metallurgical and materials engineering, is the recipient of the 2018 T. Morris Hackney Endowed Faculty Leadership Award.

Thompson currently serves as interim director of UA’s Central Analytical Facility and director of the materials science doctoral program. He joined the University as an assistant professor in 2003, received tenure and a promotion to associate professor in 2008, and became a full professor in 2012.

Thompson has taught introduction of materials science and engineering, mass and energy balances in materials, manufacturing of materials, characterization methods and techniques and physical metallurgy. Thompson is held in high esteem by his students consistently receiving an average 4.5 out of 5 on his teaching evaluations.

His research interests include phase transformations, deformation mechanisms and analytical microscopy. He has studied a variety of materials including magnetic thin films, shape memory metal alloys, ultrahigh temperature ceramics and most recently ceramic fiber processing. Thompson has received more than $10 million in funding from sources such as the National Science Foundation, NASA, various U.S. Department of Defense agencies, national laboratories and industrial partners. He has also participated in extended research visits at Sandia National Laboratories in New Mexico, the Air Force Research Laboratory in Ohio and Dynetics in Alabama.

He has authored or co-authored more than 150 journal articles, conference proceedings and extended abstracts along with three book chapters. He has graduated 12 doctorate candidates and nearly 20 master thesis students since joining UA. He was honored with UA’s Blackmon-Moody Professor of the Year award in 2014 for his leadership in hosting an international atom probe conference on campus.

Thompson is the chair for the Phase Transformation Committee of The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), and he is an active member of the Microscopy Society of America and the International Field Emission Society. During the summer, high school students intern for him as summer researchers, and he assists in the organization of a materials outreach camp for teachers.

He was given both the TMS Young Leader and the National Science Foundation CAREER awards in 2005. In 2007, he received an honorable mention for the TMS Young Faculty Fellow award, and a year later, he was named the TMS Japanese Institute of Metals Young Leader International Scholar. Thompson was recognized in 2017 as a Brimcombe Medalist for his research in multi-scale materials characterization from TMS.

Thompson earned his bachelor’s degree in physics from Brigham Young University in 1996, and went on to earn both his master’s and doctorate in materials science and engineering from Ohio State University in 1998 and 2003, respectively. While at Ohio State, he was a graduate assistant in the Center for the Accelerated Maturation of Materials. Before joining the UA faculty, he worked as an assistant researcher for Moxtek, Inc. in Utah, and as a process engineer for IonBond (formally Multi-Arc) in South Carolina.

This award was created as a tribute to T. Morris Hackney and was made possible by the contributions from John H. Josey and his son, Howard Josey.

T. Morris Hackney Endowed Faculty Leadership Through the Years

2017: W. Edward Back
2016: John Baker
2015: Jay K. Lindly
2014: Susan L. Burkett
2013: Tim A. Haskew
2012: Allen S. Parrish
2011: K. Clark Midkiff Jr.
2010: Kenneth J. Fridley
2009: Viola Acoff
2008: Beth Todd
2007: Kevin Whitaker
2006: David B. Brown
2005: Charles L. Karr
2004: John Wiest
2003: David Cordes
2002: Robert Griffin
2001: Stuart Bell
2000: Lloyd “Pete” Morley
1999: Verle N. Schrodt
1998: Daniel Turner
1997: Gary C. April